London

London is probably the European city that I have visited the most times. Every time my family visits London, we go to the British Museum. My favorite things to see at the British Museum are the cat mummies. I decided that cat mummies were the highlight of a museum full of influential artifacts (like the Rosetta Stone) when I was younger, so now my family always has to see them.

The last time we sent, my family also visited some new places. On our first day in London, we got in line for Wimbledon tickets at 5:15 am. In case you are not familiar with tennis, Wimbledon is one of the four grand slam tournaments. People come from all over the world to watch the top tennis players compete. Getting tickets in advance is extremely difficult due to the lottery system, so we first waited in line in a giant field that slowly snaked around the grounds until we got to the ticket booths. The wait was worth it when we finally got inside. I had never seen the professionals play in person.

The next day, we went to Harrods, a department store so huge it has its own gift shop. I was honestly kind of disappointed because it was very similar to the Macy’s in New York City although Harrods was definitely fancier than American department stores. My favorite part was the gift shop because it was the only section where I could afford to buy anything.

Overall, London is an amazing city that combines my love of cat mummies, tennis, and shopping.

Until next time…

-The Tired Traveler

 

 

 

One thought on “London

  1. Harrods! I love that place! It`s definitely out of my budget by looking around is quite enjoyable 😛

    Like

Leave a comment