Boston

Last summer, I visited Boston and Cambridge for two weeks while I went to Harvard Summer School. The area immediately surrounding Harvard is very touristy, but once you get away from that, Cambridge is a charming city. The brick buildings on Harvard’s campus reminded me of home. My dorm had just been renovated, and it was really gorgeous. All of the rooms surrounded a big grassy courtyard overlooking the Charles River.

During my time at Harvard, I visited both the Harvard Art Museum and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. I enjoyed the Harvard Museum of Art so much that I went back with a friend after I went on the official tour. Both museums had interesting collections of ancient artifacts. We took the T, basically the subway that also goes above ground, into Boston. Also, being in Boston for the Fourth of July was cool because I saw the Boston Pops Fireworks Spectacular. From Harvard, we walked to MIT’s campus to watch. This was the biggest fireworks show that I have ever seen. It was extra special because the fireworks were reflecting on the Charles River. When my dad came to pick me up, we had dinner at the Top of the Hub, the same restaurant he ate at with his grandparents when they came to visit him at Harvard Summer School. The restaurant was at the top of the Prudential Center, so the view was fantastic. We could see the whole city, including where I watched the fireworks.

Until next time…

-The Tired Traveler

Leave a Reply

